Your future is our business.
NTS has over 40 years of experience in delivering tailor-made training to individuals and businesses. See our values >

.(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)


Course Directory / Minibus, Bus and Coach driver training (licence category D1 and D)

These are currently two categories of driving licences for passenger-carrying vehicles: Category D1 entitles drivers to drive vehicles having between 9 and 16 passenger seats (minibuses) and the minimum age limit to drive these vehicles is 18 years of age; Category D entitles drivers to drive any size of passenger carrying vehicle (bus or coach). If any of these vehicles are used for towing a trailer over 750kg, the driver must then have a Category D1+E or D+E licence.

Training Course and Test Fees for Licence Categories D1 and D

Training and Tests


Standard 5-day Course


Standard Daily Rate


Multiple Choice Test (DSA Module 1)


CPC Initial Case Study Test (DSA Module 2)


Practical Driving Test (DSA Module 3)


CPC Initial Practical Demonstration Test (DSA Module 4)


Standard Training & Preparation for DSA Module 4 Test


Optional Pre-training Driving Assessment


PCV Category D training is carried out on an individual basis and is only be available on supplied vehicles. All fees quoted are exclusive of VAT except for test fees as they are exempt.


The process of obtaining a provisional Category D1 or D licence starts by completion of a licence application form (D2) and a medical form (D4) which is completed by a GP (following a health and fitness assessment) and they may make a charge for this. Both forms are available at Post Offices or we can send them to you.

Driver CPC Initial

In addition to passing Multiple Choice, Hazard Perception andpractical driving tests, drivers intending to drive minibuses, buses and coaches aprofessionally and having licence categories less than D1 or C1 at the time of taking their PCV test must hold a Driver CPC Initial qualification.

The Driver Certificate of Professional Competence (CPC) Initial qualification has 2 additional modules:

Module 2 - Driver CPC case study test
Module 4 - Driver CPC practical demonstration test

Drivers must pass all 4 parts to get a Driver CPC qualification. Drivers between the ages of 18 and 21, drivers of medium-sized and LGVs must have an Initial Driver CPC qualification whether the driver is driving professionally or otherwise. Over 21, the qualification is required only if the driver is driving professionally.

Norfolk Training Services Ltd already provides top quality driver training for the existing practical driving test. For Driver CPC Initial Practical Demonstration test, we can book your test and prepare you for the test.